Premed 101 Forums

Relevance of Nursing Experience to CaRMS

Hey all,

Current med2 looking anxiously ahead to CaRMS. I find myself surrounded by people who have been preparing for this for years, with tons of publications, research experience, etc that I lack as I worked as an RN for a number of years before even thinking about going to med school. It's a bit anxiety provoking thinking about matching competitiveness and already being behind the curve. I'm trying to get into research and wrack up some publications but I'm wondering if my past work experience could have any benefit in CaRMS competitiveness (even as a relevant point of interest, if nothing else)? I'm interested in rads, IM, and emerg.

Apologies for the trite neuroticism.

As someone with a different health/professional degree before entering medicine, I think having a degree in nursing is tremendously beneficial not only for your learning and experience, but also as it related to your future CaRMS application. The classmates that I have who have been a nurse, pharmacist, etc., are incredibly competent, and this, I can only assume, helped them in their successful match this year. Also, for what its worth, you might very well be asked about your experiences as a nurse, "what sets you a part from other applicants", etc. when it comes time to apply for residency positions, and I think having a previous nursing degree with only be a benefit to you. Don't let your concerns about not being on a level playing field with your classmates hold you back; if anything, you are likely already ahead of many of them in clinical experiences, knowledge, and patient skills!

• 2 weeks later...

Hey Rhogan,