Premed 101 Forums

Have I given up too soon?

Have I given up too soon?

I’m a 21 year old student about to enter a 2 year nursing program after three years of undergrad. I have a 3.5 gpa and have long given up on medical school. The problem is, it was my lifelong dream and when I still wanted it my grades were excellent. After a depressive episode in my second year, I told myself my depression was because of my drive and gave up pretty much everything and did the bare minimum in school to achieve low As and High Bs. I recently discovered that I have a condition called premenstrual dysphoric disorder and am being treated for it. Untreated PMDD was most likely the cause of my breakdown 

I realize that medical school is absurdly competitive. I have decided to pursue nursing because I still love many aspects of it and patient care. But I all I ever wanted was to be a family physician and I feel so sad when I see other people on social media getting in, knowing it will never be me.

Sorry for the essay, but what I’m really trying to ask is whether or not I gave up too soon? Is my mental illness going to stop me? Do I still even have a chance? I know these are questions no one can really answer but I guess I just needed to put my thoughts out there.

This is a really difficult situation, but I think you might have answered your own question in this post. It's absolutely not too late, you still have 2 years left of undergraduate to bring up your average while getting amazing exposure in the accelerated nursing program. If you truly want it you definitely have the time to make it happen. It will be a challenge but if not applying is something you're going to regret, and know medicine is for you, then you should absolutely try.

4 hours ago, SquirtleMD said: