Premed 101 Forums

Interview invites 2018

Hey everyone, 

I saw that interview invites were sent out today, lets try and keep with old tradition and fill in the descriptor for your stats! 

Timestamp:

Interview: Yes or No
GPA: OMSAS 4.0 scale
Context: (What is your rural, remote or Northern Ontario connection?)
ECs: (Summation of your extracurricular activities)
Non-trad?:
# of previous applications:

Interview Location/Date/Time:

Timestamp: 9:46 AM

Interview: YES!!!!
GPA: 3.79 on OMSAS scale
Context: Lived in Thunder Bay all my life
ECs: No clinical experience/volunteering, just undergraduate research (a few posters, no publications), volunteering in clubs at my university, at my church, and with a local high school mentoring program, teaching assistant job
Non-trad?: Nope

This is my first time applying! I am so happy!

Timestamp: 9:42 AM EST

Interview: Yes 
GPA: 3.93
Context: No connection to Northern Ontario, born and raised in 17,000 person city (not sure if rural, it's not that small)
Non-trad?: no
# of previous applications: 1st time applying

Interview Location: Thunder Bay 

Timestamp: 9:57 AM 

GPA: 3.97

Context: Born and raised in a small town in Northern Ontario

ECs: regular volunteering, research experiences including a publication (2nd author) and poster presentations

non-trad: no

# of previous applications: 1st time applying

Interview location: Sudbury

Timestamp: 10:27 AM 

GPA: 4.0

Context: Born and raised in rural Canada - not Ontario 

ECs: Super varied. lots of volunteering, teaching, mentoring, extra-curriculars. Currently in 2nd undergrad degree. 

non-trad: yes

# of previous applications: 1

Interview location: Sudbury

Timestamp: 11:16

Interview: No
GPA: OMSAS 3.96 (including graduate bonus)
Context: lived in northern Quebec for 2 years during teenage years, 3000 population. Born and raised in a rural small community.