Premed 101 Forums

Advice needed! The Princeton Review Complete Set or KAPLAN?

med_ical

Hey guys,

I am a total noob when it comes to the MCAT. Looking for some advice. I am going to be buying my study materials on Monday.

My options are:

(1) The Princeton Review MCAT Subject Review complete set, 2nd ed + 7 complete ebooks covering every exam schedule

(2) KAPLAN MCAT 528 Advanced Prep, 500+ advanced MCAT practice questions

If you were a student with a limited science background, which would you go for? Are you familiar with either of these?

Thank-you so much.

7 minutes ago, moonlitocean said:

If you have little science background, go for Kaplan. 

Note that using Kaplan alone won’t be enough to get you great marks

In that case, what would you recommend in addition to Kaplan? Have you tried the Princeton Review? 

Thanks!

I'm not sure what you mean by limited science background (like how limited?). I used the TPR books and they were great. I had not previously taken physics so my science background was a bit limited. I also bought the Kaplan biochem book since TPR did not go into enough detail on it I felt. For CARS, I used the EK101 passages book and TPR CARS as well. 

1 hour ago, m_jacob_45 said:

I'm not sure what you mean by limited science background (like how limited?). I used the TPR books and they were great. I had not previously taken physics so my science background was a bit limited. I also bought the Kaplan biochem book since TPR did not go into enough detail on it I felt. For CARS, I used the EK101 passages book and TPR CARS as well. 

Fairly strong knowledge of bio, limited knowledge of chem, 0 knowledge of physics. I've been told that tackling the MCAT with a science background as limited as mine is not impossible, but i'm sceptical.