Premed 101 Forums

Questions About Doing A Second Degree

I have decided to start a second degree this coming winter semester in order to be competitive, since it is assuredly my only chance. I have a psychology degree with a very low GPA (below 3, somewhere between 2.7 and 2.8), that I was not really interested in and barely spent any time studying. I’ve been fairly inconsisten with grades all over the place, mostly due to a lack of effort, and some personal issues.

I have taken a break, as I completed my studies 2 years ago, rethought my priorities, and want to give this a go. I know how important GPA is, and plan on putting all my effort into getting as close as possible to 4.0.

However, I want to be realistic, and know that only some schools take into the account only the second degree, while others tally both degree’s GPA which would render me uncompetitive no matter how well I do in my second degree.

What I wanted to do, was start doing the pre-reqs, try to maintain a high GPA and then start lightly looking into the MCAT after the first year, finish the degree (since I would be able to do it in 2 years with transfer credits from my other), and then focus solely on MCAT for another 3 months or before attempting it.

I have several ECs that can help me, working in other countries, plan on getting doctor shadowing hours through family friends, etc.

I plan on taking a general BSc to get my pre-reqs, so one year of my degree will mostly be just taking the chem/organic,bio, physics, and maybe some math courses that I need. What I wanted to ask here, is it worth to pursue some other degree, or should I just stick to general science? I saw a lot of people being big on kinesiology but I’m not sure if I would be able to complete that in the same amount of time, or other types of similar degrees, that could potentially open other doors.. Wanted to hear some opinions on this, and whether they'd be worth pursuing instead.