Premed 101 Forums

Non-traditional Applicant

It's been a while since I have posted here. 

I ended up never applying for medical school and actually ended up completing a BSC, MSc, a PharmD, and after several years of experience I now own my own pharmacy.  I am thinking of now applying for medical school after realizing specific things about medicine as a field. I am looking to apply to Ontario medical schools. 

I have a couple of questions: 

1) Will an application from a practicing pharmacist be looked down by a medical school?  

2) Will reference letters from the patients I have cared for as a pharmacist count? 

3) Can I apply as a graduate applicant? I have a Msc, but I earned my PharmD after my Msc. 

4)Being a graduate applicant, I do not think I can get a reference letter from my supervisor as it has been many years since I have last spoken with him. Is this an issue? 

Thank you all,

27 minutes ago, GBM said:

It's been a while since I have posted here. 

I ended up never applying for medical school and actually ended up completing a BSC, MSc, a PharmD, and after several years of experience I now own my own pharmacy.  I am thinking of now applying for medical school after realizing specific things about medicine as a field. I am looking to apply to Ontario medical schools. 

I have a couple of questions: 

1) Will an application from a practicing pharmacist be looked down by a medical school?  

2) Will reference letters from the patients I have cared for as a pharmacist count? 

3) Can I apply as a graduate applicant? I have a Msc, but I earned my PharmD after my Msc. 

4)Being a graduate applicant, I do not think I can get a reference letter from my supervisor as it has been many years since I have last spoken with him. Is this an issue? 

Thank you all,

1) No, thats irrelevant. You'll be evaluated the same for your non-academic experiences.