Premed 101 Forums

Which medical schools require courses to be at or above the year level?

Does anyone know which medical schools actually require you to take courses at or above the year level? If I am in 3rd year or 4th, will medical schools, especially U of C, U of A, and UBC, require me to take at least three 3rd year and 4th year courses in each semester? Could you send me a link to it if you can?

UBC doesn't discuss that specifically, but does say this in relation to full-time vs part-time:

A full course load is not necessary for application to the program, and we recognize that applicants may have many reasons for taking less than a full load. However, applicants must display an ability to handle the demands of medical school and may be required to demonstrate the reason behind a part-time course load.

I'm not aware of any requirements at U of C or U of A.

Western has the following policy:

• At least three full or equivalent courses (18 credit hours) whose published academic level is at or above the year of study:
    • Year 1: three of five full course equivalents at or above the first-year level
    • Year 2: three of five full course equivalents at or above the second-year level
    • Year 3, 4 and additional undergraduate years: three of five full course equivalents at or above the third-year level

U of T has an 'expectation' of the following: