Premed 101 Forums

Housing advice for OOP students

telus555

Taking into consideration the most recent email stating that classes will be held primarily through remote learning this fall, yet could have in-person components if safe, is it a bad idea to wait until there is more concrete info (potentially past the July 1st lease date) before finding housing for the fall semester?

I am an OOP student, and would prefer to save the money and be home this fall if I don't need to be there in person.

Any advice is much appreciated, thank you!

10 hours ago, telus555 said:

Taking into consideration the most recent email stating that classes will be held primarily through remote learning this fall, yet could have in-person components if safe, is it a bad idea to wait until there is more concrete info (potentially past the July 1st lease date) before finding housing for the fall semester?

I am an OOP student, and would prefer to save the money and be home this fall if I don't need to be there in person.

Any advice is much appreciated, thank you!

Hey! I'm in the same boat as you, also OOP. I think I'm going to wait until we get more information. Since the fall semester is online for most undergraduate programs at McGill, hopefully the demand for housing won't be as strong. Would like to hear what others think though!

I'll add in a third voice of agreement haha!

I also don't live in Montreal, and I'm going to wait to hear more about remote/in-person stuff before I commit to moving. I've been looking to get an idea of price and best locations, but I don't want to waste money being in Montreal if I don't have to. COVID isn't going anywhere for a while and since Montreal is currently worse than where I live, when that second wave hits I'd rather be home with my family than alone in an apartment in Montreal.