Premed 101 Forums

I'm only a 3rd year undergrad, but I'll give you my perspective. I'm in a highly competitive undergrad major at UBC, to get in to this major you need to have an 88+ average. Back in first year, there were two courses I had absolutely bombed based on my standards (low A-). However, when applying to the program I had asked the undergraduate advisor if the two classes I didn't do as well in would affect my application in any way. Long story short: He told me that if your other courses are high (i.e. A+/A), and there are very few courses that are outliers (i.e. B+ or A-), they'll give you the benefit of the doubt and not see it as being reflective of your true capability....so doing badly in one or two courses will probably won't do anything to you if your average is decent.

I've heard ochem gets used to basically weed out applicants due to the difficult nature of the subject material

Probably lies. Might have been true when they calculated pre-req gpa during prehistoric times. 

> I didn't exactly blow the Chem/Phys nor the Bio/Biochem sections of the MCAT out of the water either (127 and 126 respectively)

Decent scores.

in all other chemistry, biology, and biochemistry courses, my lowest grade has been an A- (82 on the UBC GPA conversion scale) All others have been A+ or A

Great!

Hopefully this works in my favour but not sure since it doesnt exactly show I had strength in ochem per se? 

Who cares.

I got a decent overall score (512 due to a 128 CARS and 131 Psych) but choked the Chem/Phys and Bio/Biochem sections on test day (I had never scored below 128 and 127 respectively on these sections in my practice tests).

Great!