Premed 101 Forums

Would a CaRMS "Unmatched Megathread" be helpful here?

Andrew

Hi everyone, it's been a long time since I was last here (2015 seems to have been my last posting), but I've been around since at least 2007. This forum has been very helpful to me over the years from Premed, to Med, to Residency and including going Unmatched back in 2010. I haven't really been following CaRMS much but it seems the number of "Unmatched" graduates has vastly increased (to 140 in 2018?) and it seems to be a much bigger problem than when I graduated.

I recently came across this article: https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC7378156/ and it prompted me to come back here.

I found it helpful to read that article, and it really validated my own personal experience "Unmatched" in 2010. I noticed this myself when I went unmatched that there is/was a lack of support from UME and also there is definitely a shame/stigma. I'm wondering if the creation of a thread where people can just anonymously share their personal experiences and feedback/support would be appropriate to maintain over the years (seems every year there is creation of a new "Unmatched thread", but what if we collect these experiences in 1 post.)

I'll start by sharing my own personal experience, and this is through the lens of now being 39 years old and having been in family practice since 2013. I now have a daughter.

First of all, to this day, I still feel a great shame about "Unmatching", to the point, that I don't like to tell anyone else, and I consider it to be among the top 3 failures of my life. For this reason, I will anonymously share my experience. Even though this happened many years ago, it still triggers me.