Premed 101 Forums

July 1, and another new year. What's YOUR story?

Hey all,

It's been a while since I've last posted. As of today, I'm now a PGY-4 radiology resident, with 2 years to go before finishing residency, and finally hitting that position of being an attending. I was on call this weekend for both Saturday, June 30, and Sunday, July 1st, and therefore was in the hospital from 8 am to 6 pm for both days.

As expected, the hospital was in a significant amount of chaos, as an entire cohort of residents graduated and left the premises, to be replaced by a new set of recently promoted residents. Many of my phone calls and questions today came from PGY-1 residents who hadn't managed to receive their logins to PACS (because of the weekend), and therefore couldn't access images or read my reports.

As I worked today, I fielded 5 phone calls from the same hapless PGY-1 resident, who told me: "this has been one of my worst days in medicine thus far."

She moved to this city earlier in June, didn't know a soul in the city, and now was expected to act as the first-line of defense for all of the new patients she'd just inherited earlier that day, in a totally unfamiliar hospital. This particular hospital is also a quaternary care hospital, specializing in transplant and oncology, and as a result, you can imagine that the inpatients, as a general rule, are extremely sick and very unstable.

Many of these patients are neutropenic, most are immunocompromised, and all have poor vascular access and are on kajillions of medications. All transplant patients are either end-stage awaiting transplant and therefore are sick as hell, or are post-op recovering from recent transplant now with new immunosuppressants on board, and therefore are sick as hell. Most cancer patients are inpatients post-op recovering from resection and therefore are sick as hell, or otherwise were admitted due to complications related to their neoplasm or chemotherapy, and therefore are sick as hell.