Premed 101 Forums

JOB! My experience is in the medical field(specialized) Do I need any career change!

I worked as an eye bank technician for the last 17 years. This is a very specialized field of retrieving corneas from donors and processing the tissue in the lab.I am a certified tech. but am not a nurse. I have made a move and am trying to get something related to my field, or would even consider a career change. I am either overqualified for many jobs or under qualified for others. I also worked as a educational coordinator for the eye bank and thought maybe those skills I could use in another field even if it wasn't the medical field. I had thought about going back to school to get some education but that is not possible right now and besides at my age of 60 I do not want to pile up student loans it is not worth it. I was just wondering if anyone out there would have any ideas or suggestions that I had not thought of. I would appreciate any help I could get. I have posted my resume on Monster.com as well as other locations with no luck.

I don't know your location, but have you considered either solid organ retrieval coordination or implant coordination? Both positions are clinical, but also are involved in education. Here in BC, you'd look up the BC Transplant Society. They collaborate with the Eye Bank,but they are separate entities. I'd think you'd have almost all the necessary skills, save maybe for the OR and keeping the organs well-perfused pre-procurement.

If it's only about money, I would suggest doing real estate. You can get licensed in a year and sell homes part time on the side. Medicine takes far too long to do and needs waay too much effort to get into if money's the only motivation.

If it's only about money, I would suggest doing real estate. You can get licensed in a year and sell homes part time on the side. Medicine takes far too long to do and needs waay too much effort to get into if money's the only motivation.