Premed 101 Forums

Is there any chance for an IMG?

• 1 month later...

I think the best thing to do would be to contact a few admissions offices, explain your situation and ask for their advice.

I am assuming that you've unsuccessfully attempted to become licensed in Canada with your previous degree. I think that biggest question that would be asked is if you have already exhausted that option, since it doesn't seem to make sense to become retrained.

Those are just my 2 cents.

• 3 months later...
Hi everyone,

thanks in advance to all who find time to reply.

I am a foreign medical graduate (general surgery internship), immigrated to Canada in 2000. I decicded to apply to a medschool again, so, I took all the prereq courses again, and now I am working on MCAT

I am going to apply to McGill, MacMaster, Ottawa and Queen's for 2008 entry.

:rolleyes:

It seems that my extracurriculars look very weak - only present hospital volunteering. On the other hand, I have many things done, but back to my country. Since no refferences in English are possible, means nothing to talk about?

Also, should I mention that I am married and have a child, which means to have a fool-time mom job? Or it would be better not to mention it at all?

Moreover, there is a doubt whether to talk about my pure immigrational experience as my working experience: I've spent a few years (in total) as a general worker on the sewing manufactures trying to survive, learning languages and saving money to pay for prereqs?.. Looks pretty bad, I know.

I also wonder, is there any IMGs who are applying to the undergrad medschools this year and having similar questions? Or an IMG who had an expirience with the application processes last year... What special about IMGs anyway?

I want to use an on-line premed adviser, but I am afraid to spend a lot of money for nothing. Does anyone know any trustfull link or any real company, and in general, is it worth it?