Premed 101 Forums

HELP! "30 units of course weight - 5 course equivalents?" What does this mean? HELP!

Hello, I am a Alberta Resident, U of A is my first choice for med school. I'm scared I may no longer be eligible. The website says:

"The minimum requirement for admission to our program is the successful completion of at least two full years of full-time university work (60 units of course weight - 10 full course equivalents) of which one year (30 units of course weight - 5 full course equivalents) must be taken during one academic year. (An academic year is September 1 to April 30 inclusive)."

Does this mean that only 1 of your undergrad years has to be 30 credits, or does every year have to be???

My first year I had 28 credits. If only 1 of the years needs to have 30 then i'll be ok since i'll take 30 this year.

Second Question:

Does this count as 15 credits, i'm at Simon Fraser University, its a 30 credit system but i'm not sure how UofA will accept the credits:

Organic Chem Lecture with Lab 4 credits

Physics Lecture 3 credits

Physics lab 2 credits

Psycology Lecture 3 credits

Molecular Bio Lecture 3 credits

total 15 credits if all the credits count as SFU's system

Hmm...wrt to your first question, I think as long as you have at least one year with 5 FCE you should be fine.

I would check with the admissions office wrt whether the classes you took satisfy the 30 credit/year criteria. From what I can tell, you are only taking 4 classes during the semester (since lab + lecture would count as one course), but this might be considered differently at SFU, and you generally need 5/semester. So, check with admissions.

• 1 year later...
  • 10 years later...