Premed 101 Forums

Please Help! U of T GPA question

Hey guys,

I did a search on this and couldnt find anything.

For GPA calculation, does U of T just take your cGPA? Or 2 best years? Or 3 best years? I cant find this anywhere!

I just finished 4th year, and my GPA is way better in later years. According to the scale they use, I have:

1st year- 3.35

2nd- 3.75

3rd- 3.95

4th- 3.98

As you can see, year 1 is screwing me I think. My goal would be U of T dent. Im a U of T undergrad, had 5 courses a year, plus one summer course which was a 3.9.

Thanks so much for any help!

If you apply during your 3rd year of undergrad,

- they will look at your 1st and 2nd year marks

If you apply during your 4th year of undergard,

- they will NOT look at your 4th year marks

- they will drop your worst year (1st, 2nd or 3rd)

- therefore, best TWO years

Ex. a student applying during 4th year of undergrad

1st year 3.80

2nd year 3.54 =====> dropped

3rd year 4.0

4th year pending

The GPA that will be used by the admissions committe will be 3.9

I am 100% positive that this is correct...

If I have courses that range from 1 to 4 credits, does UT take that into account? Like a 4 credit course would be weighted 4x more than a 1 credit course?

If you apply during your 4th year of undergard,

- they will NOT look at your 4th year marks

- they will drop your worst year (1st, 2nd or 3rd)

- therefore, best TWO years

UofT drops your worst year, but they don't drop your most recent year (even if it is your worst). So if you're applying in fourth year, they will only drop your worst year if it was your first or second year.

Hey,

I did decent in my first and third year, 3.80 and 3.88. Hoping to get the 4th year higher. But I really messed up 2nd year. A great deal. I had a death in my family and got straight Cs and Ds. If UofT does eliminate my lowest year then my GPA is competitive but would that one bad year really affect me a lot even if everything else is pretty good?