Premed 101 Forums

Is the medical profession right for me?

binbin

Is the medical profession right for me?

I am questioning if the medical profession is for me. I am going to share what I think in GREAT details. I will talk about:

a) What I like

B) What I do not particularly like

c) Conclusion - what do you think? (And, please ignore the first few replies of this thread. I have said something sensitive and I am sorry.)

(Minor sections, you are welcome to SKIP them if you are too tired to finish my post)

1) An overestimate of my lifetime expense and the required yearly income (SKIP THIS IF YOU FIND THIS OFFENSIVE)

2) The alternatives I am thinking of (SKIP IF YOU ARE NOT INTERESTED)

3) Summary

I hope everyone can help me out and share his/her opinions. I think everyone in this forum is smart too. Thanks!

I am looking for constructive opinions. I still have some soul searching to do, but a little guidance would be helpful.

About myself:

I have a bachelor degree in math from Canada. I have 34 A’s out of 38 courses; GPA is 88% (or 3.85 / 4.00 weighted in Canada). I am 22 now. I feel very insecure for not knowing what to pick as a career. I have seen my friends, which have worked less harder than me on academics, that have gotten into medicine , dentistry, and grad schools in famous universities (ex. LSE, ivy-league. etc.) . They all seems to know what to do. As for me, having worked just as hard as them (if not harder) in university, I still do not know what to do!

(Note, I have only said academics. Certainly, my friends have EC (extra-curricular activities) that are better than mine! They are certainly very brave, and are willing to face the negatives of their chosen professions.)

Hence, I really only have myself to blame for not knowing what to do.

So, I hope everyone here can help me out.

What I think I will like about med:

a) I enjoy helping people.