Premed 101 Forums

Nursing as a 2nd UG degree

jdr44

Hi all,

I need your opinions again.

At this point, I am a recent graduate student from UBC (Human Kinetics) who dreams of becoming a pediatrician one day!

At this point my GPA is not high enough and I am SERIOUSLY considering taking a UG degree in Nursing at UBC.

I would love to hear your feedback. The good, the bad and the ugly.

I need help on making this decision and I am unaware on how to.

Thanks again for your wonderful advice on this post and ones before :)

You have a couple options:

1) Apply overseas to various locations. Have you written the MCAT?

2) Do another degree. Nursing is a great option. I completed my

undergraduate degree in nursing and it a great opportunity to get a base

knowledge in medicine. It's also a great back-up plan because you can still

work in pediatrics while applying to medicine.

I'm currently in the same boat as you, although I achieved non-competitive grades through my nursing degree. I am currently doing my second degree with the hopes of being accepted to medicine in 2012.

Hey, so I did pretty much exactly what you're talking about. I originally got a science degree with just ok marks, nothing exceptional. I ended up going back and getting my nursing degree with great marks, worked for a year doing rural ER, and will be going to med school in the fall :)

Nursing was an amazing degree, it was a lot of fun and I met some incredible people. I also found it was a lot easier to do well in, probably because I was much more interested in the subject matter and found most of the material actually relevant, as opposed to some of the science courses I took in my first undergrad. I loved working as a nurse, got to see and do some really cool stuff. And now that I'm going to med school I feel like I'll be really well prepared.

If you have any questions feel free to pm me. Good luck!