Premed 101 Forums

Why you shouldn't be a doctor - a blog post

thehumanmacbook

I think a good disclaimer would be that the author's commentary is based on the American medical system.

I don't think things are that bleak in Canada from what I've seen...but I'm still a medical student so I could be wrong.

For pre-meds interested in the topic, I would suggest Incidental Finding's series: http://ifinding.blogspot.com/2007/08/dont-become-doctor.html

I think his posts are a bit more insightful and less trite. The author above seems to be channeling a bit too much of House of God, which was an exaggeration even back when it was first written.

I enjoyed reading this blog, and wish someone had written something similar that could have prevented me from going into my current field!!

Just to give some perspective on the guy who wrote this, he is now a hypnotherapist, and the author of a book called "The Tao of Dating: The Smart Women's Guide to being Absolutely Irresistable".

I'd take what he has to say with a grain of salt ;)

Yeah, a lot of those points seem overly anecdotal. I mean, I'm sure being a doctor and working your rear off 24/7 in residencies/clerkship/med school itself can't be GREAT for a relationship, but on the flipside I know people whose relationships have stayed solid and even flourished during meds (my cousin's one of them). And as for losing friends, also seems anecdotal, but I can see this one holding some weight.

I found med school (atleast the first half) much easier and less time consuming than undergrad. I did my undergrad at U of T in the sciences, so I guess take that with a grain of salt.