Premed 101 Forums

damn got rejected from three US schools =(

cclawfjj

Which schools and what stats if you dont mind me asking.

Im no expert, but from what I have seen on SDN, the US is more MCAT oriented, and some schools are not too fond of canadian applicants. The ones that dont mind canadian applicants, are usually pretty expensive (i.e Wayne).

3.65 cGPA (American), 35Q

Rejected from BU, North Carolina, Maryland

rejections came few weeks ago actually...somehow I overlooked emails from these schools until today (out of avoidance, just assumed it was generic newsletter-esque email)

how many did you apply to? US schools can be a numbers game, so your odds are good of getting in SOMEWHERE if you applied to like 20 schools.

Expect to get rejected from a lot, every US school gets like a zillion applicants, and as a non-US applicant, your chances are already slim even without taking that into consideration. If you apply to 10+, you should expect an interview somewhere, though.

Don't all private schools basically treat everyone equally? american or canadian.

Sorry to hear that. I've been getting the rejections myself, and they're not pleasant. Just got rejected from Brown today. Got rejected from Virginia on Monday, before that Stanford, Cornell, and 6 or 7 other ones.

Being Canadian definitely puts us at a disadvantage. Even private schools seem to have a bias.

Applying this late in the game puts us at a disadvantage (I applied in October, which is late as well).

And the combination thereof, being Canadian and applying this late in the game is a very bad combination ..... think synergistic effect.

I feel your pain. Good luck with the rest of your applications. Do you have other applications outstanding?

Sorry to hear that. I've been getting the rejections myself, and they're not pleasant. Just got rejected from Brown today. Got rejected from Virginia on Monday, before that Stanford, Cornell, and 6 or 7 other ones.