Premed 101 Forums

Question about LOC

I have a LOC from Royal Bank. Looking at the agreement I signed, it says that I have an interest rate equal to prime + 0% when I am a full-time student but that it can be changed to a max of prime + 5% when I am no longer a student.

Do they consider being a resident a student? I believe you pay tuition (some small amount) as a resident and are technically as student. Is this right?

Residents have dual employee and student status - we do pay registration fees to the postgraduate office. You'd need to check with RBC for their definition though.

Is this true at all school? The entire OSAP interest forgiveness thing if you stay in Ontario makes no sense if all residents are also still full time students - you wouldn't be paying interest anyway :)

Ah, it depends on what you mean by "student" - as I said, for practical purposes you will need to go by what OSAP, RBC, etc. say :)

I was referring to the dual employee and university trainee status in the PAIRO contract:

http://www.pairo.org/Content/Default.aspx?pg=1074

We would not be full-time students, but I do have a "special student" ID card that allows me certain student privileges.

Is this true at all school? The entire OSAP interest forgiveness thing if you stay in Ontario makes no sense if all residents are also still full time students - you wouldn't be paying interest anyway :)

I spent months digging into this so I know it pretty good now.

From a Canada Student Loans perspective you are NOT a student. You are required to start to make payments on your loan. If money is short, re-payment assistance or interest only payments may be applied for. The only provinces where this is slightly altered is Quebec and Alberta because they do not have integrated federal-provincial loans.