Premed 101 Forums

Unmotivated & all over the place!

Hi Everybody,

I need some good old fashioned motivation, or advice, or something.

I feel like I am on a fast track to failure and I am not getting any younger - I am 24 now!

I graduated from UBC with a BHK in 2010 and have been working as a Research Coordinator/Assistant in the Healthcare system since May 2010, with a 6 month break when I backpacked through Latin America!

I graduated with less than stellar marks - I know its no excuse, but I dealt with major emotional issues during my 2nd and 3rd year and I feel as though they were a major contribution to my poor marks.

1 yr gpa - (77%) 3.30

2 yr gpa - (72%) 3.00

3 yr gpa - (75%) 3.00

4 yr gpa - (82%) 3.70

I wrote my MCAT (written in 2009) was 8/6/P/6 - less than stellar. I tried to rewrite again last summer, but didn't study the material properly and got a lower score.

I know what I have to do - take a second undergraduate degree:

I have been accepted to UBC's BSc:Nutrition for Sept 2012 start

And I am applying to UOT BSc:Physicians Assistant Program for January 2013 start (I figured it would provide me with a 2nd UG degree as well as give me valid experience and an efficient back up plan).

The problem is - I am terribly unmotivated and have been since scoring poorly on my MCAT last summer.

I am feeling so frustrated with everything, I feel as though I have too many options, and I am terribly overwhelmed. The fact that I may be going back to school for 2 more years (prior to medical school) in a Bachelors program (Nutrition) that I have no real interest in other than to get to medical school frightens me.

I should be studying for my MCAT but I can't get the motivation to self study.

I am so confused. I get scared that perhaps I am not ready to make such sacrifices (like go to Ontario to Medical School - if the mountains and skiing every weekend are what makes me happy) or study for the mcat again.