Premed 101 Forums

Article: Pediatricians discharging unvaccinated children

I feel like this topic has come up a bunch of times before.

Personally I think that if there is nobody else able to assume care of the patient - absurd wait times, rural area - then the physician cannot discharge the patient. I think that's pretty commonly acknowledged.

As to the other, I am only a first year medical student, so perhaps my views will change a LOT when I am in practice/a clerk/a resident, but personally I like to think that I would keep the family on and continue to tell them my beliefs while also listening to theirs and acknowledging the feeling content.

I would hope that eventually, we could build a trusting relationship where they would feel comfortable changing their minds. And someone has to care for them, as much as possible. I would rather have them with me than running off to a naturopath (though they might do that anyway).

That said it also depends on the physician. If you are that uncomfortable with a patient to the point where you feel you cannot provide good care, you have an ethical responsibility to transfer them to someone who can.

What do people think about pediatricians ending the relationship of patients who they feel have unreasonable, conspiracy-minded parents?

If getting hard-nosed about this prevented even one child in my practice (or maybe the classmate of my patient or maybe just some kid in the waiting room) from suffering permanent sequelae or dying, I'd consider it worthwhile.

A lot of these patients who do not believe in vaccines become very tiring on students, residents, and physicians alike.

Personally, I don't agree with discharging patients solely on this ground, as one is still able to provide excellent care to sick patients regardless of whether they are vaccinated.

However, I can see why pediatricians discharge patients who don't believe in vaccines because it does jade their opinions of such parents and compromises care.