Premed 101 Forums

Is this an ethical thing for a doctor to do?

Hi,

I'm a third year student planning to apply to med school next year. And I have a real-life ethics question, and I wanted to hear your opinions.

My family moved to Ontario about 10 years ago. We live in a small city outside of Toronto (about an hour by car), and we couldn't find a family doctor accepting patients in our city. So we got a doctor in Toronto, and we've been with him ever since. He's not the greatest person ever, but he seems more or less competent, and we have no major complaints.

Except he does this one weird thing, where we get tested every year, then he calls us to his office to tell us the results. For example, my mom got a call a few weeks ago from the nurse in his office, telling her that there was a problem with her tests, and that she should come in at some point. The nurse refused to say what it was (which is understandable, because of the liability issues, I guess). My mom is actually out of the country right now, and she can't come in any time soon, obviously. So we've all been panicking about what it could be, but my doctor seems adamant that she needs to come in.

This is not the first time it has happened. Once, she had some vitamin deficiency, so the doctor made her come all the way to Toronto so that he can tell her to buy some vitamin supplements from a drugstore (non-prescription). He doesn't seem to realize that his patients go through a lot of agony when he does this, especially when you can't even book appointments immediately.

The explanation that I heard is that he gets paid per patient visit, so he really wants his patients to come in.