Premed 101 Forums

Heavens have Smiled Upon Me...{Got A POSITION}

I got Nuclear Medicine.

I went in for a IBD consultation today. I was sitting in the coffee shop, drinking my coffee talking to my wife. Some really nice guy started talking to my wife and I.

I guess he heard I did not match, and he over heard me and my wife. He asked what school I graduated from. What do I want to do in the future. He asked if I could send him my transcript, deans letter, LOR and Resume.

He asked about my research.

All of the sudden it turned in to an Interview.

I was asked to come in and talk to another physician and resident.

I was asked why I did not match in first or second round, and what I want to do. I told them everything, How I feel, about my wife, about moving to USA, about feeling like dying, about not having money. about how is not fair.

I went to my appointment and told the doctor who was dealing with my case about what happened. He said he knows the doctors and the department head, and he will make a call for me {something my PG_dean did not do}.

I got a call shortly after {like 20 mints} and was offered the position, and told to thank my doctor. I was asked to Contact my Dean office and ask them to forward my files, and also was told to call CaRMS.

Dean-office is game.

CaRMS has no Idea what to do, I mean they responded by stating, in the history of CaRMS no one has matched outside the match and this is against rules and regulation.

Called the program director back, no luck. The resident stated he went through the same thing before and he assured me everything will be ok.

10 mints later PD called me, asked me to get the Dean to contact the Provincial licensing agency in order for my transition to go smoothly.

Dean office has no idea what do .

PD reassured me they do, and for me not to worry. He also said I should come in next week to work as research assistant in order to be involved in the field as soon as possible and make money.