Premed 101 Forums

Exit strategy for CARMs legal contract, I will start your family medicine residency

Hi,

I’m a Canadian Medical Graduate that went unmatched in CARMS for family medicine this year.

There may be a group of MDs out there who matched to family medicine in CARMS for their second choice and want to annul their legal contract to start residency July 1, 2014.

I propose that I can happily step into your place.

A likely interested party would be someone who could not get their first choice match. They received their backup choice of family medicine and recognized that a year of research and publications along with getting more experience in their first choice may be a better option than committing to a residency that they do not want to do with only 2 years of funding when they would need 5 years of funding.

I am very passionate about family medicine and have a strong resume with lots of family medicine electives and experience. I am highly motivated and would be a very grateful and work hard for the program.

I would be willing to fly down to wherever you are so we can meet your program director together and explore an exchange. It will be 2 MDs versus 1 MD.

I also would consider Psychiatry and Public Health so please send me a message and we can start a conversation.

If any MDs have buddies that may be interested in this arrangement, lets explore this together and drop me a message.

Thanks!

Resident1357

I remember seeing a topic from someone who matched to family residency just a few days ago actually and was looking for ways to get out of the contract, you may want to search through these forums (they don't move fast so it shouldn't be too far behind) and PM them.

Either way, good luck!