Premed 101 Forums

Quebec Residency! I Need Help

Toothfairy11

Hello people, I am a grade 12 student who's planning to attend McGill University majoring biomedical sciences.

I have a question regarding attaining Quebec residency/ Canadian citizenship. I am a permanent resident since 2008, and I lived in British Columbia ever since.

I noticed that acceptance rates for med school, scholarship opportunities, and tuition differs by a lot for Quebec Residents from any other residents, and I was curious if there is any way to attain Quebec Residency. I have went over the 14 situations listed by McGill, but I am still confused of how to obtain CSQ, and if I am eligible for it. Also, if I am trying to apply for Canadian citizenship during my school years in Quebec, will the process be any different from applying from BC?

If you are a permanent resident already, pretty sure you are not eligible for the CSQ. The citizenship process should be the same in Quebec or BC. Now to obtain residency, the "easiest" way would be to either study part time for a year (Situation 6) (not recommended for med schools); or have one of your parents move here (situation 5).

You might want to check if applying for citizenship as a Quebec resident will require competency in French.

As soon as your parents are Quebec residents, you can take their documents and claim Quebec resident tuition.

In terms of what it takes to be a resident in the provincial sense, practically, you would upon moving to Quebec, give up BC residency, switch to coverage under the Quebec government for all provincial level services like education, health care, and driving. Philosophically, being a resident in any province means you intend to be a permenant part of and form attachmentd to the society of that province. That's why full time university students aren't considered residents, because most intend to go back to their home province/country after graduation.