Premed 101 Forums

Should I Write The Mcat/ How Much Does Mcgill Care About Ecs?

Ellennn

Hi guys, 

I finished my second year at McGill and was planning on studying and writing the MCAT this summer, until it hit me today... Should I even spend so much time and effort to do the MCAT if I have a good enough chance for McGill Med?

So the real question is, do I have a good enough chance for McGill Med?  

I'm an in-province student, my cGPA is currently 3.96, I would expect it to stay the same after my 3rd year, and it will certainly drop the 4th year because I'm doing some courses that are impossible to get A then. 

- I am a business major, with a minor in science, and my science pre-req GPA is close to 4.0 (only 1 course with 3.7, 4.0 for all the other pre-reqs)

- My ECs are very poor, I think. I have hospital volunteering (not significant hours), academic tutoring, the standard grade 8 piano, high school concert band, a few shadowing experience, and that's it?

- I have quite a lot of working experiences however, in many restaurants, I also worked as an Undergraduate TA for some business classes. I will have an internship at a public accounting firm next summer 

How much does McGill care about ECs if one has a high GPA?

Writing the MCAT will allow me to earn a spot in Ontario med schools, but it will be a significant commitment for the summer because I will have to re-learn everything (even tho I've learned a lot of the content from the science pre-reqs).

Write the MCAT and apply to Ontario schools. It's great if you get in to McGill, but what if you don't? Then you're going to be kicking yourself for not applying to more schools to increase your chances.

You may loose one summer by studying for the MCAT now, but it can save you a year in reapplying.