Premed 101 Forums

Maverick

Don't be afraid to cancel if you aren't ready or don't feel comfortable writing. A few things to consider are:

(1) You have the option to void your test after you write it if things go south.

(2) It's hard to take practice tests because of work, but perhaps this weekend you can sit down for a full 7.5 hour practice test under exam conditions and see where you stand.

(3) At this point, there is probably less flexibility when it comes to choosing a different test date.

Finally, if you decide to postpone your test, here is an example of someone who scored a 526 by essentially studying for 2 hours/day during the school year: http://forums.studentdoctor.net/threads/how-i-prepped-for-a-526.1146107/

Everyone is different and it's hard for someone else to tell you what you can or can't handle, but if it helps I can tell you what I did last year. I studied all summer long while working ~50 hours a week doing field work as a USRA, and felt prepared to write. I tried, apparently too late, to book a date that summer but nothing was available until late October, so I just went with that date. I was taking three 4th year courses, spending more than two courses worth of time on my thesis project, working 5 hours a week as a tutor and 10 hours a week as a school mentor. Studying for the MCAT during the semester definitely sucked... a lot, but I managed to make time and was happy enough with how I did (33 - 10V/11B/12P).

I managed to make writing during the school year work, but most people wouldn't want to put themselves in that position. I can't tell you whether you're ready or not (but you should definitely be doing a lot of practice tests before feeling "ready") but if you don't write this summer then you might want to consider studying again and writing next summer if you think your score (or GPA!) might suffer.