Premed 101 Forums

In Need Of Some Advice (Considering International And Domestic).

Hey guys,

I've been applying to med for the last 5 years with little success. Last year was the closest I've gotten with being waitlisted in Sask. I've applied to many US schools with no interview requests despite a decent GPA of 3.72, an MCAT of 37R, and glowing reviews from professors/department heads that I knew very well. I'm currently finishing up my thesis based masters following an very relevant medical related (and imo rather difficult) honors degree and am now back at my parents while I figure things out.

One of my issues is extracurricular activities. I am planning on spending the year volunteering in a variety of places to compensate (I had 500ish hours at the hospital and have been on numerous executive teams during my undergraduate but nothing special).

I am being encouraged to take a look at universities in Australia and Europe but am worried of getting a job afterwards (Caribbean is not a consideration for me). I would not mind staying abroad afterwards but would also look at moving back to Canada or the US. I'm sure there are plenty of posts like this but I'm curious if anybody can provide advice or insight on any aspect of this. I do plan to apply to a few US schools again. My MCAT is now too old so I will have to rewrite it should I want to apply to Canadian schools.

Cheers.

This is probably the last thing you want to hear, but have you considered doing more undergrad courses? I'm not sure that ECs are you're first problem, but the 3.72 is likely keeping you out of most schools. How are you years distributed/did you always take a full courseload? 

Yeah the honors program required a full course load for every year. I was given a waiver for taking courses in my masters because I had taken all the relevant graduate level courses in my undergrad. It was a 4 year program so 40 courses.