Premed 101 Forums

When/how Many Times You Take The Mcat & Apply

Hi everyone,

I wanted to take the MCAT this summer, but not apply until 2017 as I did poorly first year and need that year to be dropped (I am currently in 2nd year). I am just wondering if it matters how long ago you took the MCAT (I know that is has to be the 2015 MCAT) matters? Also, does U of C med look at how many times you apply? I know this is thinking far ahead, but I am more than willing to apply multiple times, but I'm not sure if each consecutive application has a decreased chance.

Thanks! 

You shouldn't have any difficulties taking the MCAT this summer and applying next year. Plenty of people apply to medical schools with MCAT that is 2-3 years old.

I also don't believe the number of times you apply has any significant bearing on how you're evaluable. However, I believe that if you take the MCAT multiple times, UCalgary will take a look at all of them, so you can't just keep on writing until you get lucky with your scores. 

As far as I am aware, you can apply to all Canadian schools as many times as you want and each application is considered a "fresh start" unless you manage to get yourself red-flagged and blacklisted. U of Ottawa is the only school that I know will only interview candidates up to a maximum of 3 times.

TL;DR: At U of C they don't take into account how many times you have applied. So previous unsuccessful attempts shouldn't mean you have a decreased chance.

There are apparent and unapparent ups and downs for retaking...

Naturally since there's less of a hindrance on retakes even getting a few points above is worthwhile.