Premed 101 Forums

Basic Us School Questions

Hi guys,

I read a few threads regarding applying to US schools, but couldn't find some of the information that I am looking for. Your help would be greatly appreciated :)

So I am a third time applicant to UBC med, and after being rejected for 2 previous years, I've been put on the waitlist as an IP student. I have not tried applying to other Canadian schools yet. My expected stats for this year's cycle are:

cGPA: 82-83%

aGPA: 84-85%?

Prereq: 83%

MCAT: 34 (11VR/12PS/11BS)

NAQ (from last year): 36. I am a pharmacy student.

Publications (new this year): 2 as second author

Volunteering at a crisis line (new this year)

One award (new this year)

My questions are:

1. As a Canadian applicant, how hard is it to get into an American medical school compared to Canadian medical school? While the intuitive answer is that it's harder to go to the States, I have a few friends who go to school in Australia and Ireland after being rejected from UBC. 

2. I've been looking up average GPA and MCAT for the schools in the States using this website http://premedusa.blogspot.ca/2014/06/US-Medical-Schools-for-Internationals-Updated.html, but I wasn't sure whether those stats apply to In-state/Out-of-state (but American) students or they apply to everybody. Based on this information, I was planning to apply to UNC Chapel Hill and downward (if you sort the schools based on GPA requirements by clicking on the column labelled GPA).

Thank you

I would go to SDN and see from there. I think your stats are ok for some schools in the states. Better to invest in MSAR now (30$ or something) and see the data they give. That website was not very helpful for me but the MSAR was. Good luck.