Premed 101 Forums

Help a newbie get disability insurance

Hello everyone, 

I'm a new medical student and want to get setup with the right disability insurance. I'm looking for advice from new students, as well as resident and doctors if they can provide me some insights in "what they did, and what they should have done" when making this decision. 

Right now I have a choice between my provincial med association (not OMA, but similar offering) vs RBC offer vs RBC via CFMS. RBC seems more expensive, but also has more perks. 

I'm so new to this and its confusing comparing things I don't understand in detail: portability?, will the premium go up a lot?, should I stick with provincial because resident docs' premiums are covered (RBC not)?, what happens as a practicing physician? etc.

Could anyone comment on what is ideal, and protect my myself from being scammed by insurance companies (I pay my end but then they give me hell to fight, if I have to ever claim my benefits). 

Please and thank you!

Wait until you are in 4th year, this is what I did, and there will be offers for it to be free for up to a year. Then, you only want to take out minimal insurance. and go to an independent broker who has a large book of doctors as clients. Wait! I went to RBC. Tu through an independent broker.

50 minutes ago, Bambi said:

Wait until you are in 4th year, this is what I did, and there will be offers for it to be free for up to a year. Then, you only want to take out minimal insurance. and go to an independent broker who has a large book of doctors as clients. Wait! I went to RBC. Tu through an independent broker.

This was my plan, minus the broker. Any reason why you didn't go directly to RBC? They seem to know what they're doing for docs.