Premed 101 Forums

IMG - trying to transfer to US/Canadian med school

Hi there! I'm currently in my second year at a medical school in the Caribbean that is accredited by both Canada and the US. 

My GPA and class rank is competitive in medical school and so I am looking to transfer to a Canadian or US school so that it makes matching for residency a little bit easier over being an IMG. 

One of the many issues with this is that my MCAT score is not competitive for a lot of these schools and so I am hoping that I can boost my application with a good USMLE Step 1 score. However, many of the schools want a competitive MCAT to go along with this and so my question is: am I allowed to re-write the MCAT again even though I'm a medical student? (One of the reasons why I did not do so well on the MCAT is because I never took many of the core life sciences and social sciences courses in undergrad, but now that I've learned more than what I need to know for the MCAT in medical school, I feel like I can definitely bring my score up significantly). 

Let me know what you guys think! Thanks :)

17 minutes ago, DVT said:

Hi there! I'm currently in my second year at a medical school in the Caribbean that is accredited by both Canada and the US. 

My GPA and class rank is competitive in medical school and so I am looking to transfer to a Canadian or US school so that it makes matching for residency a little bit easier over being an IMG.