Premed 101 Forums

Terrified for the MMI interviews

• 3 weeks later...

I'm not really experienced because I'm only a first year student but I would assume the best thing you can do is practice interviews with someone, like your peers in a study group. Since you've already been to one I would assume you have a gist of what kind of questions to expect, so you can use that to practice formulating better responses.

Hope this helps:)

Practice, practice, practice. The trick to med school interviews is that you're not there to reinvent the wheel--for any given question, there's no "golden" answer they're looking for, they just want something reasonable and articulate that shows you can 1) think under pressure and 2) have given some thought into why you want to be a doctor. 

IMO, it's just one big psychological hurdle to prove that you've put in the time to become good at interviewing and that you're able to handle some stress. The good thing about MMIs is that if you tank a question (and most people feel like they do), you can just brush it off and move on. Good luck!

1. Read through future_doc's pinned thread carefully, including the comments of ontariostudent.

http://forums.premed101.com/index.php?/topic/47600-mmi-casper-prep-by-popular-demand-part-i-of-ii/

2. In my experience, being relaxed, flexible and just yourself goes far in improving your performance! And it removes any perception of seeming to be rehearsed.

3. Treat the actual MMI as "a practice run", do not go into it with an overload of performance anxiety.

Those applicants who followed this simple advice ALL got into medical school in the last cycle.

4. Treat the examiner as if he/she is an inquisitive, intelligent 12 year old child to whom you are imparting knowledge and explaining how you got to your answer.

5. Lactic Folly's suggestion of videotaping yourself for feedback is excellent.