Premed 101 Forums

Transfer from surgery to psych in 3rd year

Dear Premed101 community, your expertise and experiences would be helpful to help me organize and criticize a decision I have been thinking about. I am a 3rd year resident in Gen Surgery in Quebec and a few months away from my 4th year. During my Carms match, I was torn between Psych and Surgery. Ended up ranking surgery higher becaues of the emotional load related to psych. In the last two years, I have been grieving a long term relationship and have started thinking way more about the meaning of our training, my purpose in life and what drives me. I have been nostalgic about my psych rotations and have felt regrets about choosing surgery. That feeling has been within me for the last 2 years but I feel like I invested so much of my time in surgery so far that it would be foolish to transfer at this point. Especially knowing that I will only get 6 months credited. Any inspirational stories ? Any rational arguments? Should I just suck it up and feel lucky I'm 2-3 years away from being a surgery staff? 

Hey I hope you get the opportunity to speak to someone. Sending you well wishes. 

I think before any switching... can you see yourself slogging it out as a gen surg staff though? It feels as though you can't really see yourself doing that after your revelation and that is ok. Have you had opportunities to speak to psych residents and staff instead? 

Maybe ask yourself how much you can tolerate being gen surg staff before switching. 

- G

If you have difficulty with  "grieving a long term relationship", I think you may benefit from talking to a psychiatrist. But switching to psych, I am not sure that would really help. Personally I found psych interesting in the diagnostic aspect but the emotional drainage from treating people wasn't worth it. If you switch to psych, wouldn't the emotional burden of psych add to your emotional problems rather than solving it?

3 hours ago, shikimate said: