Premed 101 Forums

anyone didn't get summer research funding?

iwh333

You think thats bad! I pay out of pocket to travel&live in Baltimore in the summers while my supervisor gets a nice grant from NIH, which he hasn't bothered extending to me. Sad thing is I do 90% of the work, he just checks it over, LOL. But I'm an undergrad so I can't publish anything without his name on it.

To be fair I never asked him for a stipend, cause I didn`t know he was even getting funded until today! We bum the data we need for our research off another prof in exchange for using our analysis technique for his project.

You think thats bad! I pay out of pocket to travel&live in Baltimore in the summers while my supervisor gets a nice grant from NIH, which he hasn't bothered extending to me. Sad thing is I do 90% of the work, he just checks it over, LOL. But I'm an undergrad so I can't publish anything without his name on it.

To be fair I never asked him for a stipend, cause I didn`t know he was even getting funded until today! We bum the data we need for our research off another prof in exchange for using our analysis technique for his project.

So your research involves bumming data off other researchers???

..what kind of research is this exactly?

Well this isn't my supervisor's main project. Its a little side project actually created for me. He has his own big projects to make money on. He barely works on this, only I do. So I didn't think he actually got a grant and everything for it.

Yes my research involves bumming data off another project. I mean why raise extra mice, inoculate them with cancer, treat them with chemo. drugs, and then send them through the MRI (it costs $500/day to rent the machine) when there is already someone that did all that? All I need is the raw images to develop my computational analysis on. I'm actually presenting on this at a conference tomorrow (I'm 6 hrs behind Eastern time cause I'm in Hawaii for this conference).