Premed 101 Forums

freaking out

Okay. So.

Maybe you guys remember me. I'm the one who was like "I've never done a science course before but I think I can write the MCAT!".

I got all excited. I ordered my books off the internet (ExamKrackers). I registered to write (Sept. 4th). I quit my job and decided to dedicate my whole summer to studying.

Which started today.

I'm freaking out. What was I thinking? Why didn't you stop me (some of you tried. Most of you were encouraging though, which is nice too I guess). I'm reading the very first biology lecture and there are just so many references to things that I'm completely unfamiliar with.

I gave up and slept for three hours.

So what do I do?

a. Continue studying, write it and know if I need to write it again that's okay. Also, the studying will help me for the intro bio and chem courses I plan to take next year. Know that I will probably do well on verbal and can at least apply to Mac. Live in poverty.

b. Quit studying. Enroll in college (cegep) bio and chem summer courses in preparation for uni ones next year. Get a job. Afford dance classes. Continue volunteering. Have fun.

c. Give up on medicine. Will I ever be able to remember all this stuff? Let myself be daunted. Become a social worker. Live a life of regret and nagging bitterness.

What do you think?

Love,

Hopeful, naive, disillusioned

________

sc2 replays

medschoolahoy, this is the third of your posts like this that immediately come to mind. And you apparently didn't like our advice the first time around (why didn't we talk you out of it? What's wrong with you?).

What you should do is get off the internet, definitely stop posting these kinds of posts, and figure it out for yourself. You've already asked us for our advice on this topic, and it seems you didn't like what we had to offer. Why are you back?

1) Get off the computer

2) Go and study

3) GO AND ****ING STUDY