Premed 101 Forums

Too late for Med. School?

I turn 22 in September. I was a full time student in University from Fall 2005 till Winter 2006, grades were pretty decent. I had a 3.5 GPA....and I was aiming to go to Med. School...but shortly after that in the summer of `06 iono what changed but when i went back to school in the Fall...I started to lose concentration, and my grades soon began to drop. The past 2 yrs, i`ve just ben driftin from here to there for schools, mostly doing part-time. And so GPA isn`t that well right now.

But after thinking this entire summer I think its time to really step back up to the plate and concentrate in what I really want in life....and i know for sure that I really want to become a doctor.

I am applyin to a different University in the Winter (hoping to start fresh and put everything behind me) hopefully get my degree in 3-4 yrs, by then i will probably be around 25 yrs old...is that too old?

My friend is in med school right now and she will finish her four yrs when she's around 27 yrs old? Whereas ill prob just be startin med school...but is it too late?

I know if I pushed myself and quit my slackin around ways and motivate myself I can get the grades, but the question now becomes is it too late...did my slackin off the past couple of yrs ruin my chance to get into med school?

thanks

There is no actual age restriction on admittance into medical school and people from a wide variety of backgrounds (including ages) apply and get into school all the time. The non-trad section on this forum has quite a number of examples of people doing or have done successful something similar to what you are suggesting. So no it is not too late :)