Premed 101 Forums

The end goal is Med. school

Hey,

I'm completely lost in terms of what to do, so any help would be great. I'm a 4th year student, with a cGPA of 3.3 (my last year was 3.76). I have to write my MCAT this summer. Anyways, I don't know what to do, in term of next year. I don't want to do MSc (research based), but could consider anything else. I confused about what path would at least make me competitive in Canada. So, I really want to do something that will help increase my chances. I'm considering a course based master, but sure how many med schools will open up. So, any help in helping me decide what path I should take would be greatly appreciated.

Here's what I thinking of doing:

1) 5th year

2) course based masters (don't know how this will benefit me)

3) Work and apply to med school

thank you

Hi there

For Canadian schools, it seems that undergrad GPA is really important.

Since your last year GPA is 3.76, which has a potential to improve, I suggest that you take a 5th year and try your best to get close to 4.00. For Queens, Western (not sure, but sounds like it), Saskatechewan, Calgary, Alberta, they look at your last/best two year GPA.

Also, try to get balanced & as highest score as possible for your MCAT, and if you are from GTA area, try to obtain in-province status from places possible, such as Alberta (you need to live there for only 1 year in order to obtain the residency).

Lurk the non-trad forum more as this question gets asked every couple weeks.

If you score a high GPA this year and your MCAT passes the cutoffs, you'll be competitive at UWO and Queens. If you do a 5th year and get even higher you can add Ottawa to that list.

Masters work will only help you at a few schools but you'll need to fix your GPA before really going that route.

Fifth year or 2nd undergrad are the go-to ways to boost your GPA for Canada. If you don't want to do this then applying overseas is an option as well.