Premed 101 Forums

PM101 Runners thread

kylamonkey

I've just gotten back into running!

I started training for a 1/2 marathon last year on my own and developed ITBS.

Now I've moved across the country where there's actually winter, doing a clinic with the Running Room and loving it! It's not so bad running in -20 something wind chill :)

That didn't take long looool

I do!! but haven't for 2-3 weeks now :( ... I never get sick but for some reason this year every possible thing is getting to me (last time this happened was 9 or 10 yrs ago)!

I usually stick to 10k-15k - half marathon.

Anyone have tricks'n'tips for breathing? I'm initially a swimmer so still having trouble with this but just during the first 3 to 5k.

Who here runs?

I do/did.

My doctor told me to start the couch-to-5K program, which is kind of hilarious, but I am enjoying it for now.

Yes, it's way to start running and pretty much where i'll be going back in a couple weeks ;) Here's a good C25K program or walk/run program. http://www.coolrunning.com/engine/2/2_3/181.shtml

What is the couch to 5k program? Is that a way to start running initially?

I've just gotten back into running!

I started training for a 1/2 marathon last year on my own and developed ITBS.

Now I've moved across the country where there's actually winter, doing a clinic with the Running Room and loving it! It's not so bad running in -20 something wind chill :)

Do you have a foam roller? Best $40 spent ever.

What is the couch to 5k program? Is that a way to start running initially?

or try:

c25k.com

yep, it's a program that takes you from the couch to running 5km in 9 weeks

That didn't take long looool

I usually stick to 10k-15k - half marathon.

Anyone have tricks'n'tips for breathing? I'm initially a swimmer so still having trouble with this but just dring the first 3 to 5k.

I used to know someone who was all about breathing. I never paid attention to him though, sorry. LOL.