Premed 101 Forums

I'm 34, finishing my PhD and applying to med school. I know I'm older than most people here, but so what. With respect to learning, I think I'm at my peak. I have 12 years of research experience that gives me invaluable perspective. I am able to absorb new information much better than I ever could as an undergrad. 24 is young. And you know what, 34 is young too!

Yeah I feel pressure from my boyfriend to finish school, and I'd like to have a family someday, but if my boyfriend can't accept that I want to follow my dreams then he's not the right guy for me. To thy own self be true.

I think you should not be discouraged. If you want to be a doctor why would you go to law school? Do you really want to be a lawyer? Or do you want to be a doctor? I know for PhDs they make your supervisor sign a form saying that you will be finished your PhD before med school will accept you. They don't look favorably on PhDs dropping out to go into medicine at all. At least not at U of T. Law school might be different. Good luck to you!

I am wondering though if adcoms would frown upon someone in a fairly competitive professional school applying before completion of their program? Also, does anyone know what kind of degree UWO med considers law to be? I checked their website, and I see that starting a second undergrad would make me ineligible, but I'd be in a JD program which I don't think is a bachelors.

Certainly a LL.B. is a bachelors degree. I would imagine so is a JD. Two years ago University of Ottawa Law School decided to change its LL.B. to a JD degree and gave the option to their every graduate with a LL.B. to change it to a JD. These graduates did not suddenly attain a graduate degree!