Premed 101 Forums

Lab Volunteer Opportunities Questions

skyzek

Hello,

I am just wondering how do people get positions as lab assistants or volunteers. Keep in mind that I am a first year kinesiology student. Also I want your opinion on my current portfolio on extracurricular:

-Shadowing doctors at a hospital for 3 weeks

-2 Years as a lifeguard and swim instructor

-1 Year as a math tutor

-OFSAA swimmer of 2010

This is what I have currently that is of significance. I just want to know what your opinion is about it and what can be made to improve it. I don't have any real marks to give out as I really don't think my marks mean anything until I get into my finals. But currently after midterms, I have around 99% on the midterms I have completed.

Thank-you,

SkyZek

Join some clubs maybe? Become an executive member of some clubs that you are interested in. Volunteer at a hospital (not necessary, but I greatly enjoyed volunteering and met tons of great people).