Premed 101 Forums

Current Med students, have any of you experienced doubts?

I'm a med student going into my second year this fall but after first year, I am hesitant about going back and am also doubting if this is the profession for me. Have any of you experienced any of these doubts? If so, what did you choose to do/what keeps you going through the slog that is med school?

I think it depends on the reason behind your doubts.

One thing that helps me is doing observerships and making connections with physicians who are practicing the kind of medicine that I want to practice. It reminds me that medical school isn't the same as being a doctor and that it's something that I have to do to get what I want, but that it won't always be this way.

I also reflect on the reasons that I went into medicine. And I keep a list in my head (which I really should move to paper) of patient encounters that I have had that have really cemented my desire to go into the field that I want to go into and have left me feeling that I really am in the right place.

Are there any particular doubts that bother you the most?

Lots of people have doubts. Maybe you could explain what you're feeling, and we could try to help you?

Ellorie's got some good advice too. I know the schedule can feel tight in pre-clerkship but trust me, you're not as busy as you think you are (in Canada at least). Get out there and get involved with clinical medicine. Maybe even do some research. There's a lot of cool stuff in medicine that you don't get to see in the lecture halls.