Premed 101 Forums

Meaningful questions to ask during an observership

Hey Guys,

I am a premed student who is fortunate enough to have secured an observership position with a craniofacial surgeon. My question for the med students and residents is what are some meaningful things that I can ask the surgeon without being a nuisance to the whole OR team?

Thanks in advance!

Ask where you can stand. Before touching anything, or even coming within a few inches, ask.

As for other questions, you'll have to play it by ear as to when is a good time to ask. Some people are more relaxed in the OR, playing music, etc. while others want to concentrate in silence. In that case, it's probably easier to strike up a conversation before entering or after exiting the OR. You can ask any general questions you would like - how did you get into this field, what do you enjoy most about it, any advice for the young, etc.

First off good for you for securing an observorship premedically as that is a difficult feat. I did an emerg observorship before med school and it just ignited my passion further to get into medicine.

Let me be clear that there are no expectations of you as a premed. It is just that you observing what he/she does with no expectations for your involvement or knowledge of the profession. There are no stupid questions. If something intrigues you ask about it.

Even in 1st year med school physicians expectations are VERY low of you so premed they expect nothing so dont try and impress anyone by reading a textbook on craniofacial surgery the night before. :)

Perhaps after the surgery you can ask him/her questions about reason for choosing that specialty, pros-cons of their specialty, where they see the specialty going in 5-10 years, stuff like that.

I dont know what type of OR etiquette this surgeon has so best to play it by ear to see whether people talk a bit or whether it is total silence during the procedure.

Beef

Hey Guys,