Premed 101 Forums

I am not sure if I qualify for the weighted GPA or not. I am currently in my fourth year of UG. I've taken five courses (0.5 credits each) each semester...however, in my second semester of first year I only took four courses (0.5 credits each). The other 0.5 credit I completed in the summer. On the UofT website it says that I need three years of full time studies to qualify for the weighted GPA. So what I'm wondering is, does the fact that I only took four courses in one semester disqualify me? 

The rule is as follows:

At any university on a credit granting basis, 28 credits worth of schoolwork will count as full-courseload and qualifies for wGPA criteria as long as your total Full-Year-Equivalent of courses comes to 4.5.

If you had less than 4.5 or 28 credits in any of your undergraduate years you are disqualified for wGPA.

Summer courses are not counted towards your academic year courseload.

If you completed extra courses in another year, such as 5.5 or 6 full year equivalent courseload, you will still be disqualified.

Last resort, if you have a medical or reasonable extenuating circumstances that prevented (limited) you from taking on a full courseload you CAN submit an Academic Explanation Essay to request a consideration for a weighted GPA even if you had less than full courseload.

You will never be told about the decision about your special consideration essay, and you may be given full, partial, or none forgiveness for a wGPA consideration.

The rule is as follows:

At any university on a credit granting basis, 28 credits worth of schoolwork will count as full-courseload and qualifies for wGPA criteria as long as your total Full-Year-Equivalent of courses comes to 4.5.

If you had less than 4.5 or 28 credits in any of your undergraduate years you are disqualified for wGPA.

Summer courses are not counted towards your academic year courseload.