Premed 101 Forums

Should I Transfer Out Of Uoft?

Blue Sky

Hi everyone, I currently go to school at utm/utsg (taking a half of my classes at each campus) I have a 3.21 OMSAS GPA (all courses taken including summers) and I am currently in my 2nd year. I did not start off strong (2.9 in first year) and I am wondering if I should maybe transfer to York, but don't know if that will make a difference. I would rather go to Mac or Western but I don't want to rack up more debt for housing.  I looked at the NSERC research projects for York and there are very few, and most of them were engineering related anyway. In addition to that I hear a lot of bad things about York (sexual assaults and incidents), but I liked the campus and my sister wants to go there next year.  I am currently doing research with the history department at UTM, as much as I don't like it very much, I feel it was a unique opportunity that can help me get something closer to my field of study.  There is so much more opportunities, but my marks are not good enough to make me stand out.

I don't know if it is time to give up on med school or not. How would anyone know that? Is it more of an institution problem or am I the problem.. I am sorry to bore you with this..

Thank you,

No reason to give up on med. Consider that some schools look at best/last two years (ie. Western, Queens) for GPA. I suggest that you reflect on the cause for your current grades (procrastination? poor study habits? wrong major/not interested in material?) and whether the school has anything to do with it (you don't like the atmosphere/learning environment, home sickness - which it doesn't sound like - etc.). If you can't attribute any of this to your current school, then a switch may not be as helpful as you think.