Premed 101 Forums

Matured Student applying to Medical School

Hey guys, 

I thinking of chasing the Medical School dream! But there are quite a few hurdles infront of me. I was hoping to get some insight from anyone out there! 

I moved here a few years ago and I have a non-Canadian bachelor's degree in Biology (it was evaluated and found equivalent to a Canadian Degree).

My gpa is shit (3.2 overall but I did well in my last two years and even managed to get my thesis published in a medical journal). When I moved to Canada, I did a one year post graduate program after (unrelated to Biology) and graduated with a 4.2, does anyone know if this will be included in the overall GPA count when applying to Medical School?

I know my chances are low and even lower because of my GPA, but does anyone know of success stories for older applicants? I'm looking at McMasters specially and I'm currently studying for MCATs...I'm trying to really score well in the CARS section and I'm hoping to draw on my life skills, I've been working in personal injury for sometime now but have always wanted medical career. 

Is it too late?

Not too late, but that GPA is going to be a behemoth to get over. Like score a 130+ on CARS, do amazing on CASPer, and you got some potential there. Otherwise, anyway to do a fast tracked degree for an alternate career, get high GPA, and try then? Mac is nice in that it's pretty numerical, just CASPer is hard to know how to assess as feedback is never given.

It's not too late, but Mac is one of the worst schools for someone in your situation:

They don't count graduate grades, but you do get a 1% bonus though, which is nice, but not all that great since a higher CARS score (which is worth 33% of your application!) is going to give a much bigger boost. 

They look at ALL your undergraduate coursework, no drops.