Premed 101 Forums

How I Got A 35+ Naq To Get The Ubc Med School Interview

A word of caution: Wait until after you are accepted and admitted, before you start showing people your application, and providing advice. I know you have good intentions, but you never know how people may try to sabotage you...or if it could blow up in your face. Not saying it will, but be very cautious. 

This was my first thought as well. Man, so cynical, this sucks. 

• 2 weeks later...

Hi all, 

I've received many messages over the last week from many people seeking out advice on how I acquired a higher NAQ score. To put into context I am a B+ student who was lucky enough to get a A- (82%) after having it being adjusted. Even then I'm working with a 18.xx AQ score - not very much to work with. Despite this hurdle, I was able to achieve a higher than normal NAQ, likely 35+, to reach the threshold for a interview (52.91). I believe my success was due to a very fine attention to crafting the 350 character description as well as an extraordinarily diverse and distinguished set of extracurricular activities.

To help or guide others, I will include in this post a list of 1) general tips on writing your NAQ activity description as well as a quick summary of my 2) extracurricular activities. 

Hopefully some of the tips will help you rethink the process of writing your descriptions; and with a summary of my ECs as a sample pathway to diversify your pursuit. It's not the only way, but a pathway that has found me some success with the interview offer.

Good luck!

---

1. General Tips

1.1 Format:

• General format: 1) past-tense action verb, 2) what you did, and 3) outcome (see below for more information)