Premed 101 Forums

Premed majors w/ job security

Latinized

Hello, I'm currently in my final year of high school and have been endlessly researching ever since I realized that I have a passion for medicine. However, I know that I may not be good enough to get into med school, thus I need backup options that provide financial and job security. So, I was asking are there any majors that fit that criteria? I know pharamacy and business are great (may do a minor in business) backup options. Also, are there majors that fit the criteria to be a pharmacist or doctor, so I know that I can possibly get into pharamcy if I don't get into med school. Any other great majors with good financial and job security?

In this order:

1) Identify potential majors that interest you

2) Consider the employability of the degree or transferability of skills/knowledge acquired

It's important you study something that genuinely interests you as university will be hell otherwise. I wouldn't put much stock in your current "passion for medicine"--you're very far out from the application process and potentially matriculating into medical school, a lot can change between now and then.

A degree in business is probably worthwhile if you enjoy it and are smart about getting involved and building connections. Kinesiology is applicable to any further healthcare education (ex. PT/OT/nursing/medicine, etc.), psychology is another option if you enjoy learning about the mind and would consider doing counselling.

8 hours ago, Latinized said: