Premed 101 Forums

Would you recommend doing another year of school?

I am a second degree student. I have three years of school already. I have 3.9 gpa in my first year, 3.7 in my second year and 3.7 in my third year. The reason it's not a higher is because I also work part time as a health care professional. Do you think I have a shot at any med school in Ontario or otherwise or coming in for a fourth year would be wise?

Thank you.

You probably have little chance at this stage, however, applying anyhow is a good idea, if for no other reason, to immerse yourself in the application process with which you become intimately familiar! The devil is in the details and it is helpful to have one application cycle under your belt so as to make you a more informed applicant when it is really important. Applying is a marketing mission and one learns how to improve the application from experience. Therefore, I recommend that you go for it! :P

I don’t know if they factor in your grades also from your first undergrad.

applying to Med school is somewhat like buying s ticket to a lottery. So very many qualified applicants are refused as there are more applicants than seats. It’s far worse for residency, e.g. in 2 fields where I applied, there were 80 applicants for each, 40 interviewees for each were selected. And each residency had just 3 spots. Both interviewed me. I was really qualified for one position and I was not selected. I was probably the least qualified for the surgical specialty that selected me. Go figure. It came down to sheer luck! 

On 3/18/2019 at 4:34 PM, Bambi said:

I don’t know if they factor in your grades also from your first undergrad.